Busyness Broken

Laundry. It seems endless. Sounds like a first world problem right? Still I let myself get lost in the house chores and myriad of life and work tasks every day. They take on a “must be done” importance and my mind goes on autopilot listing and tracking all that I need to complete like a droning broken record.

One day amidst the laundry calling for attention, I was frustrated with my pathetic inability to refasten a lid to a bath toy and stomped out of the bathroom toward the laundry room past my two- year-old son. He said, “Mommy pick you up?” to which I walked right on by and firmly said, “I can’t right now.” Deflated, I heard him say to my back, “Mommy’s too busy.” Right then my busyness broke like a smack to the face a clearing of the clouds. All my baby wanted was to be close to me but I was truly too busy in that moment plodding along as a human-doing not a human-being.

Mommy and son

I am convinced that one of the greatest goals to strive for is to be present with God and His calling of motherhood. I find this takes persistent strength, mighty faith and prayer, and detachment from what binds us to how the world defines us. It’s a hard fight against the daily noise to reach a place of peace and acceptance. When we do find this stillness, life is simple and we are free to love our children in the moment for all they do and say.

In Mark 10:14 Jesus says, “Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. Amen I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it.”

One of the many blessings of children is to have an ever-present reminder of how be childlike. Have you ever lost yourself freely observing your child’s sweet interaction with God’s toys? When did you last stop and smile as your little one played with his shadow in the sun, delighted in a strong breeze, jumped into a pile of fall leaves, or watched the tweet tweets gather food in the grass?

I encourage you to put down the tasks and the phone. Be still. All that you are, all that you will do in this day is enough. Be Mommy. Many times, that’s all God and our children want from us. I am learning to live humbly, simply, and to love being present more than the task. The laundry can wait.

 

Leave a Reply

