Mommy is a Magical Word

Ethan in mommy bootsMe: A-W-E-S-O-M-E spells…

Ethan: Awesome!

Me: Who’s awesome?

Ethan: Ethan’s awesome!

Me: Who else is awesome?

Ethan: Mommy!

And the list of who is awesome goes on to include Hayden, Daddy, Grammy, Pee-Pah and so on.

Hayden and Ethan will scribble on their doodle boards and come running to me proudly showing me what word they wrote: “Mommy!”

Sometimes I will playfully ask, “Who loves you?” to which they happily shout, “Mommy!”

These exclamations along with waking up to the call for mommy and asking for me when I step out of the room are like bits of magic mommy dust. It’s an expression of authentic love. So simple and yet this gift, this blessing and honor of being mommy is truly worth every sacrifice.

Without this privilege I would still be stuck in my self-serving bubble, have a limited knowledge of love, and be spared a trial by fire that has transformed my heart beyond anything I could have done on my own. This is a life of sacrifice and service but so abundant with the hand of God infiltrating the dark interior, breaking down walls to reveal his redemptive light.

Matthew 10:39: He who has found his life will lose it, and he who has lost his life for My sake will find it.

I feel like motherhood has stripped my self-image of several layers of worldly definition. Gone is a layer of vanity and material want. Glamour and self-indulgence have been peeled away. I’m transforming into a simple being where each day I make the choice to leave more of myself behind in pursuit of becoming more like Christ. I’m traveling a rocky, slow moving trail, but I’ve journeyed a long way so far.

We are all called to travel different paths. Your moments of authentic love will take various forms. Where does your magic dust come from?

Hayden in mommy boots

2 thoughts on “Mommy is a Magical Word

Leave a Reply

