Missing the Little Things

HaydenBubbling with frustration over my boys and likely all of us being sick again, I want to get dramatic and cry and rant about how things just suck so much of the time. There are no fun weekend plans at our house. Heck we are lucky if no one has to go to the doctor in a single week. Many times I feel endlessly indentured to my two full-time mommy jobs: waitress and nurse.

As I pray my boys sleep peacefully this night, I listen to the strong wind outside and take a step back. Small, simple sparkles of joy rise up inside and a voice says, “Why are you missing the little things?”

How Ethan and Hayden have such sweet smiles and beautiful, long dark eye lashes. How Ethan said, “I love you so much mommy!” when he saw me coming down the stairs today. How funny Hayden is when he sleeps underneath his pillow or when he wakes and tells me he dreamt about chocolate. How still Ethan sits on my lap to watch a video…I can feel his heartbeat.

It’s so tough when the world happily goes on without us as we are stuck inside with illness or other troubles. But this too shall pass.

2 Corinthians 4: 17-18: For this momentary light affliction is producing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to what is seen but to what is unseen; for what is seen is transitory, but what is unseen is eternal.

Find a beautiful moment or two and hold on tight, dear friend. All things have their season. In the meantime, you are blessed and loved.

 

Leave a Reply

