My Husband…What about Him?

honey-do-listWhen I think about my blessings, my heart most often swells with thoughts of my little boys. I love my husband too, but I don’t always FEEL this truth. Or act on it.

It’s so easy to nag him to take out the trash and mow the lawn, make endless house repairs, and lift heavy objects. These are his man-duties right? So do it already I want to exclaim.

In deficit mode, I see the shortcomings, what task is lacking. The complaining and conflict that results tears apart the very love I’m called to honor, build, and submit to.

It’s time to flip the switch.

When I look through the lens of authentic love, I see the man who was uniquely crafted as a generous gift to walk beside me on this rocky journey and help me to become a better, holier version of myself.

No matter the pain and struggle that befalls us, my best friend is with me. I am eternally grateful for all he does for our little family who he clearly holds #1 in his life. Through all the busyness of his day, he always calls me in the early morning and texts me during the day to sincerely say I love and miss you.

1 Peter 3:1-2: You wives should be subordinate to your husbands so that, even if some disobey the word, they may be won over without a word by their wives’ conduct when they observe your reverent and chase behavior.

How can I hold onto this love and change the way I engage it?

I have decided to challenge myself to a self-less conversion of daily, simple acts of love for my husband. This is going to be a stretch outside my comfort zone requiring discipline to override my innate tendency to control the “to do” list and fulfill my own needs. But one of my greatest fears it standing before God having failed to live this vocation He has called me to:

1 Peter 3:1-4: Your adornment should not be an external one: braiding the hair, wearing gold jewelry, or dressing in fine clothes, but rather the hidden character of the heart, expressed in the imperishable beauty of a gentle and clam disposition, which is precious in the sight of God.

Through persistent effort and God’s grace transforming us over time, I pray, dear friend that it becomes easier for us to love and lift up our husbands than it does to nag and take them for granted.

I am weak and broken, but much more so I am infused with the blessing of my soul mate in God’s perfect story of my life. What challenge will you accept?

Leave a Reply

