Tell Me The Truth

perfected in weaknessYou’re hiding it. You’ve got to be. Behind the perky façade that’s always managing parenting, domestic life, and work so well, you must struggle with something deeper. We were not created to be yoga pant-wearing, carpooling mommy clones. We feel deeply and can help each other heal and grow in faith. If we are brave enough to open up and share our real, raw selves.

The author of Momnipotent (p132) writes: “Remember that we are all editors…We see what other people choose to share about themselves, and what they choose to share, for the most part, will be their very best, their most flattering details, and those things they are most proud of. These are their exterior details.”

This makes SO much sense. If you have safe, cheery walls up around you and cover up your flaws, fears, and dreams, God can’t use you. He uses weak people with a willing heart. My friend, are you willing to open your heart?

2 Corinthians 12:9: And He has said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power is perfected in weakness.” Most gladly, therefore, I will rather boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.

Consumed with serving my own family and chasing a myriad of other tasks, I treasure every opportunity I get to spend with you. Even if much of it is in silence or over the screams of my fighting toddlers. Please, I’m asking you to tell me the truth. I need you and I’m betting you need me a bit too.

Next time our conversation ventures into the realm of resolutions, relationships, fears, and dreams, don’t say, “I don’t know.” Your authentic voice is clamoring to find its way out. Uncensored. Real. Will you dare to share what’s bubbling below your sweet composed surface? I’ll share my heart, my faith – everything – if you want it. Sure it’s easier said than done as there is always the risk of judgment, but if we end up in a hug, maybe even releasing buried tears, isn’t it worth it?

I do not want to complicate your schedule or rope you into hours of therapy talk. I’m just asking for a few precious moments of truth. Your truth in a world that hides behind a nice clean home, perfect marriage, material blessings, and endless chatter about our children’s sleep, eating, and school behaviors.

Maybe I’m an existential idealist, but I would much rather talk about faith, strength, pain, transformation, happiness, and love. Whatever you feel, I have tremendous empathy as I have likely walked in similar shoes, have been seared with the same emotions. So my friend, I invite you into the heart of authentic love. Let’s be honest, deep, true sisters in Christ.

2 thoughts on “Tell Me The Truth

  1. Yes, yes, yes. Being real, honest, transparent – willing to share our hearts, bear one anothers burdens, and encourage each other in the mess of everyday life. It’s so important and so powerful and I believe through and through that it is what women crave. To know how to navigate life without the ribbons and bows, but behind the veil when it’s hard. That’s how Christ taught and I believe it’s what He wants from us too – honest relationships. Loved your words today, friend! Well said!

    Like

Leave a Reply

